2014’s Rise of the “Virgin” Killers and Modern Society’s Impact on Molding Humanity PART 1

rise-of-the-virgin-killers-elliot-rodger-ben-moynihan

by Cheri RobertsChallenging the RhetoricThe Guerilla Media Network

Last spring a tragedy of unprecedented proportions unfolded on the coastal town of Isla Vista, California near UC Santa Barbara when 22-year-old Elliot Rodger went on a bloody rampage resulting in 7 deaths (including his own) and leaving more than a dozen people injured. There were at least 12 different crime scenes where Rodger, since dubbed the ‘Virgin Killer’, wrought terror on the college town.

elliot-rodger-virgin-killer-isla-vista

IMAGE SOURCE: Facebook

You girls have never been attracted to me. I don’t know why you girls aren’t attracted to me. But I will punish you all for it. I don’t know what you don’t see in me. I’m the perfect guy.”

Rodger, a self-proclaimed, ‘virgin’, hated women. In numerous videos [still] posted to his YouTube channel and linked on social media sites, Rodger told the world how horrible he thought women were and how much he hated them for not being attracted to him. He told of being a virgin and the torment this caused him and then chillingly, calmly, in what is known as his, ‘Retribution’ video, he told us all how he was going to kill as many of them as he could. He begins by saying,

It all has to come to this. Tomorrow is the day of retribution. The day in which I will have my revenge against humanity. Against all of you. For the last eight years of my life, ever since I’ve hit puberty, I’ve been forced to endure an existence of loneliness, rejection and unfulfilled desires. All because girls have never been attracted to me.  Girls gave their affection and sex and love to other men but never to me. I’m 22 years old, and I’m still a virgin. I’ve never even kissed a girl. I have been through college for two and a half years, more than that actually, and I’m still a virgin. It has been very torturous. College is the time when everyone experiences those things such as sex and fun and pleasure.   In those years I’ve had to rot in loneliness.”

It all has to come to this. Tomorrow is the day of retribution. The day in which I will have my revenge against humanity. Against all of you.” 

In a 137-page autobiography titled, ‘My Twisted World: The Story of Elliot Rodger‘, quickly labeled the,  ‘Manifesto’ by the media, Rodger says,

Alpha Phi sorority is full of hot, beautiful blonde girls; the kind of girls I’ve always desired but was never able to have because they all look down on me. They are all spoiled, heartless, wicked bitches. They think they are superior to me, and if I ever tried to ask one on a date, they would reject me cruelly. I will sneak into their house at around 9:00 p.m. on the Day of Retribution, just before all of the partying starts, and slaughter every single one of them with my guns and knives. If I have time, I will set their whole house on fire. Then we shall see who the superior one really is!”

FAIR USE - PUBLIC REALM, click for full document

FAIR USE – PUBLIC REALM, click for full document

My hatred and rage toward all women festered inside me like a plague. Women deemed me unworthy of having them, and so they deprived me of an enjoyable youth, while giving their love and sex to other boys.”

And then he did, before losing — or taking, his own life in the front seat of his gifted  BMW Coupe where the gaping hole in the shattered windshield had been caused by the impact of a bicyclist Rodger had run down just minutes before.

elliot-rodger-death

IMAGE SOURCE: dailymail.co.uk

I already planned to use the Mercedes SUV as one of my weapons on the Day of Retribution, since Isla Vista on weekend nights was always filled with my enemies walking right in the middle of the road. They would be easy targets.”

Rodger’s victims where  killed and/or injured by way of his BMW, knives, machetes and gun fire.

20-year-old Katie Cooper and 19-year-old Veronika Weiss were gunned-down across the street from the Alpha Phi sorority house; 20-year-old Christopher Michael-Martinez was hit by gunfire while inside the IV Deli Market when Elliot opened fire from his black BMW.

20-year-old Katie Cooper and 19-year-old Veronika Weiss were gunned-down across the street from the Alpha Phi sorority house; 20-year-old Christopher Michael-Martinez was hit by gunfire while inside the IV Deli Market when Elliot opened fire from his black BMW.

The Second Phase will represent my ‘War on Women’ … I cannot kill every single female on Earth, but I can deliver a devastating blow that will shake all of them to the core of their wicked hearts.”

It is worth noting that although Rodger claimed in his YouTube videos — as well as in the ‘manifesto’, that he wanted to kill women specifically [especially the blonde ones] only two of victims were women; only one of them was a blonde and most of his victims unwittingly ended up being men.

19-year-old George Chen, 20-year-old Cheng Yuan Hong and 20-year-old Weihan Wang. Both Chen and Hong shared the apartment with Elliot.

19-year-old George Chen, 20-year-old Cheng Yuan Hong and 20-year-old Weihan Wang. Both Chen and Hong shared the apartment with Elliot.

“…when the Day of Retribution came, I would have to kill my housemates to get them out of the way .…  I’d even enjoy stabbing them both to death while they slept.” 

Three of Rodger’s victims were found inside of his apartment; two were roommates he despised. Little has been in the media explaining the circumstances and timing of their deaths.  In a press conference the day after the murders, Sheriff Bill Brown said,

The three male victims were apparently stabbed repeatedly with sharp objects and it was a pretty horrific crime scene.”

IMAGE SOURCE: scallywagandvagabond.com Guns used by Isla Vista Virgin Killer Elliot Rodger

After I picked up the handgun, I brought it back to my room and felt a new sense of power. I was now armed. Who’s the alpha male now, bitches [emphasis is Elliot’s]?”

Three semiautomatic handguns, along with 41 loaded 10-round magazines were found in his car. Both the weapons and the ammo were bought legally at local gun stores even though Rodger had a documented history of mental instability.  The New York Times reported Santa Barbara sheriff’s deputies took dozens of bags of evidence out of Rodger’s apartment noting the bags were labeled, ‘handwritten journal,’ ‘2 machetes, 1 knife, 1 hammer,’ and ‘Bags of empty Ammo boxes found under bed.’

There has been no further mention of Rodger’s, ‘hand written journal’ nor it’s contents.

Meanwehile … Two Months Later, In Portsmouth, Hampshire

ben-moynihan-virgin-killer

IMAGE SOURCE: portsmouth.co.uk

I hope you learn a lesson not to bully guys like us, we deserve dignity, for your own generations, remember.”

In June and July of 2014 — just two months after Rodger’s deadly killing spree, 17-year old Ben Moynihan sought out and randomly stabbed 3 women in Portsmouth, Hampshire. He was found guilty this week, by a Winchester Crown Court, of attempted murder and is facing sentencing by Judge Justice [yes, that’s his real name]. Moynihan is now 18 and although no lives were lost by his hands, his intent was to kill. He even made-up a serial killer name for himself.

ben-moynihan-virgin-killer

IMAGE SOURCE: portsmouth.co.uk one of Moynihan’s crime scenes

“I am still a virgin, everyone is losing it before me, that’s why you are my chosen target.”

A very disturbed young man indeed. Moynihan also made at least one video of himself demeaning and threatening women, saying,

I think every girl is a type of slut, they are fussy with men nowadays, they do not give boys like us a chance … I am still a virgin, everyone is losing it before me, that’s why you are my chosen target.”

He then waves a knife at the camera and continues,

Shall I stab you in the neck or in the heart, shall I slash your throat or should I just cigarette lighter you or just fire you? … I do not know where I could get petrol from but how hard can it be to come by … So I hope you learn a lesson not to bully guys like us, we deserve dignity, for your own generations, remember.”

ben-moynihan-stabbings-virgin-killer

IMAGE SOURCE: ibtimes.co.uk weapons used by Moynihan

Shall I stab you in the neck or in the heart, shall I slash your throat …” 

The video was found on his laptop and is part of the evidence against him along with other documents he created. In one such document he wrote,

I was planning to murder, mainly women, as an act of revenge because the life they gave me.”

It seems the teen wanted to be caught after attacking his third victim and began taunting authorities by leaving notes for them on their police vans and elsewhere. He even included his own photograph in at least one note challenging police to find him before he found his fourth victim; and ultimately it was that image that got him caught.

Ben-Moynihan-note

When women won’t talk to you it’s heart-breaking. Why are they fussy with men nowadays? … I was planning to murder, mainly women, as an act of revenge because the life they gave me.”

Moynihan kept a, ‘Diary of Evil’, in which he detailed his crimes. While Rodger wrote about what he was going to do, Moynihan wrote what he did do. Both seemed to have been compelled to leave behind evidence that told their stories the way they themselves saw them.

In America there was little mention, if any of Moynihan and his victims when the crimes occurred. Even on the internet, you’d play tough to find a trove of anything about Moynihan’s crimes and motivations although they they were committed on the heels of the grisly events in Isla Vista and followed the same, ‘poor virgin boy who all girls hate and refuse to have sex with so they must all die’ theme.

Rodger’s crimes were so horrific and prolific they were plastered all over TV’s, newspapers and computer screens for weeks on end. I’m sure having a semi-famous father [Peter Rodger, an assistant director on The Hunger Games] had something to do with all of the media attention his story received and since no one actually died by Moynihan’s hand in Portsmouth it was basically a non-story just like his ‘guilty’ verdict this week has reverberated exactly almost nowhere and let’s be honest, you probably had no idea who this guy was before you started reading this article.

These stories tell a lot about the society we live in where high-speed isn’t just a term for internet providers. There is a larger issue at play here; both in what these boys did and in how we as human beings participated in their crimes and in our reactions after the fact.

This was PART 1 in a 2-PART series. PART 2 (coming soon)

See Also:

*

If you like this or other Challenging the Rhetoric articles, please share it with others; follow our website, Facebook page and/or follow us @CTRNewsFeed on Twitter. Don’t forget to listen to the LIVE show every Weds. @6pm PST/9pm EST. Thank you!

Please check out other articles published by Challenging the Rhetoric contributors:

6 responses to “2014’s Rise of the “Virgin” Killers and Modern Society’s Impact on Molding Humanity PART 1

  1. Pingback: NOTHING IS BLACK AND WHITE: 50 Shades of Grey Surrounding Death of “Grey State” Filmmaker David Crowley | Challenging the Rhetoric·

  2. Pingback: Sex and [National] InSecurity | Challenging the Rhetoric·

  3. Pingback: LIAR OF THE WEEK: Corporate Media Over “Measles Parties” | Challenging the Rhetoric·

  4. Pingback: Red My Lips: A Simple Act of Outright Defiance | Challenging the Rhetoric·

  5. Pingback: Nuke or Chemical Plant? What Really Happened in the Ukraine? | Challenging the Rhetoric·

  6. Pingback: FBI Director James B. Comey Makes Public Excuse For Racism in Law Enforcement | Challenging the Rhetoric·

What do you think?

